The Friday Night Special

Do you ever struggle with just… letting go?

It’s no secret that I’m a bit of a control freak, although I’ve spent many years doing my best to minimize the fact and hiding this less than attractive character flaw. But somehow our (or maybe just my) romantic relationships tend to bring out the worst in ourselves (myself). Your spouse is supposed to be a part of you, the other half to your whole and I’m afraid that sometimes I take that a bit too literally.

The Bearded One and I, for all that we’re supposed to be a two in one Friday night special, do not see eye to eye on everything and on occasion I can get a little carried away in trying to impose my will, because my way is right and our lives would just be so much easier if he’d just give in and do it like I told him. But that’s not the way this two for one works, and most of the time when I try to impose my will all I get for it is mad.

So right now I’m trying to do a little less pushing and a little more relaxing. Because the possibility exists that it’s my problem and not his (perish the thought!) and maybe, just maybe, if I let go, I’ll get something in return. Be it a little more peace of mind, or maybe even some more reaching out on his part, while we’re both part of something more now, we’re still two different people with different needs and I have to be more understanding of his, because he’s pretty patient with mine.

Image

Photo courtesy of Samantha Caroline Photography

 

 

About Vaingloriouspoopweasel

Reader. Gossip monger. Coffee and diet coke addict. Current cat addict. Slave of the service industry. Wife. Friend. Flirt. Girl. Control freak. Lover of shiny things. Hater of other people driving. You know, your typical American girl next door. If you like my blog, I love to have you around! Even if you don't, you're welcome to stay. I tend to update on Wednesdays or Thursdays, with an extra post thrown in for good measure when the mood hits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Friday Night Special

  1. these were wise words. every day i have to tell myself to just let go a little more. just live and breathe and no try and control the uncontrollable. siiigh.

Leave a Reply

