A Ranty Review

I had a whole post written up and ready to go, and then I got this morning all to myself, and, well, I went to Redbox the other night and now I’m sucked in to playing Tomb Raider. I’m not a huge gamer, although the Bearded One and I will go off and on with Borderlands 2 marathons and I’m a Fable addict and I’ve actually test gamed for a company before, which was a pretty cool experience! (I signed about a million NDAs to boot). I’m probably about a middle of the line gamer.

But I’ve always loved Tomb Raider. I think I was about ten when I first went to a friend’s house, and she’d gotten a Playstation for her birthday and we sat around all night and played Tomb Raider III all night and I was hooked. I thought it was so cool- Indiana Jones, but a girl! But I (unfortunately) had to go home the next day, and my mom wasn’t sure about the whole video game phenomenon until after I left the house. One of the sucky things about being the oldest child.

Then, when I finally had access to a 360, the first thing I did was go out and buy Tomb Raider Legend. I played that one the whole way through, with lots of swearing and lots of questions like “How do I move this box?” “Where am I supposed to jump?” “Whoops, can’t jump that far,” throughout. It was hard, maddeningly hard, but I made it. And then my disc disappeared and I haven’t played it since.

So with the advent of games on Redbox and the release of the new Tomb Raider, I knew I was going to be playing the latest one. I got a free code the other night, the game was finally available, and the Bearded One wasn’t going to be home for two whole hours. I took it home, all excited… and just found it was kind of meh. The graphics are great, and I like Lara being a little more vulnerable, but I’m just not won over by the gameplay so far. Too much directive playing (um, in the major scenes I’d like to play my own way, not just hit the joystick as fast as you tell me), not enough tomb raiding, and too much one person shooter style fighting. I’m stuck in the Shantytown right now, I’ve probably died about 50 times, 5 of them after changing my settings to Easy, I can’t find my way out and all I can think is, if I wanted to play Call of Duty, I’d be playing Call of Duty. And at least with CoD, they give you grenades so you can shoot more than one person at a time and you don’t have to press the left trigger and right trigger simultaneously to get off a shot! What ridiculousness. If it is not that difficult to shoot a gun in real life, and believe me, I know, it should not be that difficult to shoot a gun in a game. And mostly I’m using arrows because apparently they are more likely to kill someone than a gun is. Ugh.

So I haven’t finished the game yet, and if I can’t get past this point in a timely manner, I’m going to have to return it unfinished. I’m disappointed in the game but oh well. In the meantime, I have a cat on my feet and another on my lap (partly on this laptop, making it very difficult to write), my paycheck is coming in tomorrow, and I have a good book I can finish now that I’ve got that out of my system.

Mommy's Little Helper

You don’t need the keys for the laptop, right?

About Vaingloriouspoopweasel

Reader. Gossip monger. Coffee and diet coke addict. Current cat addict. Slave of the service industry. Wife. Friend. Flirt. Girl. Control freak. Lover of shiny things. Hater of other people driving. You know, your typical American girl next door. If you like my blog, I love to have you around! Even if you don't, you're welcome to stay. I tend to update on Wednesdays or Thursdays, with an extra post thrown in for good measure when the mood hits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

